Tags

,

Deep into the unknown, the blogger leaps.

When we decided to move here, all of the friends we were leaving in Texas told me they’d miss me. I felt like I was finally starting my life, in a way.

I’ll start a blog, I told them. You can catch up with me there. (Uh-huh.)

One year later… the time finally seems right.

There was plenty going on, plenty of trial and error, in the first year. But I wasn’t ready to commit it to the public page. Besides, there seemed to be plenty of top notch blogs covering what I was trying to do. Every time I Googled ‘How to… (catch a chicken, skin a moose, shoot a tomato gun, etc.)’, the proliferation of blogs explaining how and why was overwhelming. I was just a young mom trying to make sure the library books got back in time and the dishes were not breeding new types of organisms in the bottom of the sink by the end of the week. Blogs felt out of my league.

Now that I am starting to forget what I learned last year, however, a blog seems like a good info-organizational tool for me: How cold can the chicks get without getting hypothermia? When do the wild blackberries start ripening? What have I learned from the garden this year? I finally feel I have something to offer ex-suburbanite back-to-the-landers in Middle Tennessee. (Hi, guys!)

The value of this blog will increase the longer I am posting on topics I learn about. (Or so the theory goes.)

I will try to post on my experience, and if I tell you something I’ll try to cite where I got it from so you can decide if you trust that source.

What is this blog about? Just me, trying to make good choices.

This is the quote that shocked me out of my college track of grinding toward a degree… then another… then, another… teaching… tenure… the rest. It’s from ‘A Grammarian’s Funeral’, by Robert Browning. I couldn’t have told you that a minute ago; I had to look it up. (I read it in ‘Bartlett’s Familiar Quotations’ first.)

‘That low man seeks a little thing to do,
Sees it and does it:
This high man, with a great thing to pursue,
Dies ere he knows it.’

Here’s the other. You all know this one.

‘You must be the change you wish to see in the world.’

That’s Gandhi.

So I thought, that’s a good idea, to try to align one’s actions with one’s beliefs! Easier said than done, in some ways.

Struggling constantly with lowish level anxiety, doubt, fears? Attempting to live well may yet prove the way to alleviate these. We shall see.

Christiana

